Getting to know my recruiter and my Sales Director

Both my recruiter and sales director (SD) live long distances from me.  So, most of our communication was by phone or by email.

When I was getting started, I was so excited! I wanted to know everything, and I felt confident that I was going to get lots of training and support from both my recruiter and my SD.

I was at least partially correct on that.  In the few days leading up to signing up, my recruiter, a Red Jacket, talked to me quite a bit.  She addressed my concerns and shared her new-consultant experiences with me.  At one point, I asked her whether I would be able to speak to her regularly, in order to get advice.  She told me that she was still fairly new (1.5 years, maybe?), so I’d be communicating most frequently with our SD.  Fair enough, I suppose.

During the first several days, SD and I talked quite extensively.  As I said, I was very excited and wanted to talk about all my dreams and plans. Plus, I wanted to pick her brain about strategies, how to do this and that…all of it.

One thing she told me is that I needed to have a “why?”  What is the thing that is driving me to be successful in my Mary Kay business.  I told her that I wanted to earn money to serve in a specific area of the world.  This has been my dream for several years.  She, in turn, told me about a national sales director (NSD), who used the money she earns with her Mary Kay business to fund some overseas charitable programs.

Obviously, this touched me deeply and cemented my resolved to go all the way with my Mary Kay business.  Who was that girl who was warning her recruiter and SD not to even think about asking her to recruit or buy inventory?!  Whoever she was, she was GONE!

 

Leave a comment