Someone please adopt this orphan! (or my first meetings)

Since neither my SD nor my recruiter lived locally, I would be attending Mary Kay Success Nights at a local unit, as an “adoptee.”  A friend of mine raved to me about her SD and invited me to her meeting. So, I put on my skirt (Mary Kay policy) and set out.  

I was a little intimidated by all of the professional looking women.  Not sure why, because I’m used to being around professional people.  Still, I was the new kid.  

Honestly, I don’t have a lot of recollection of the content of the meeting.  I do remember speaking with the SD at the end.  She was a very excitable lady.  Everything was “FABULOUS!”  

When we spoke one-on-one, she was significantly less excited.  

I asked her whether she would ever be willing to meet me and go over some things with me.  She told me that she barely has time for her own team, so she really wouldn’t be able to take time for me.  Huh. 

After the meeting, I went home feeling deflated and without desire to return to that unit’s Success Nights.  Fortunately, my SD had connected with another director, and I could go check out her meetings.  She said the NSD of that area would be speaking that night, so it’d be a great time to go. 

And go I did.  Again.  The average age of the consultants was younger than the other meeting.  The average height of heels was higher than the average length of skirts.  There was a bit of dancing at the beginning, mostly of the SDs.  And then, some models (guests) came out to show off their make-up looks.  

When the NSD spoke, I immediately loved her.  She was also very excitable, but in an endearing way.  There were little clappers on the chairs, which we clapped whenever she said something exciting.  (I would later find out that these were a staple at all Success Nights.) She talked about how much confidence Mary Kay had instilled in her.  She talked about how she asked God to point her to the right women to approach about Mary Kay.  She talked about how Mary Kay provided her a mission field.  Mission field?!  Again, someone was speaking my language.  

I spoke to the SD after the meeting, which by the way, was in the same room as the first meeting I went to.  She was a bit more down-to-earth and welcoming.  So, this would be the unit into which I’d be adopted.  I left this meeting feeling like this was the place I belonged.  And I was determined that one day, I too, would be able to drive out of there in one of those pearly pink Cadillacs like the ones parked outside.

Oh, one more thing:  about the skirts, I asked if it were really necessary to wear a skirt to every meeting.  The weather was starting to get colder, and I just don’t have a lot of cold weather skirts.  They told me that I could also wear professional looking pants.  Phew!  But that I should never wear pants to a big event, because no one is allowed to walk on stage for recognition in pants.  

Leave a comment